Special Education
close up boypbis classroom

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act 2006

    State and federal laws say that all children with disabilities have a right to a free and appropriate education (FAPE). Special education includes classroom programs and other types of services that are designed especially for children with various types of disabilities. In Michigan, special education services shall be provided to eligible students from BIRTH through age 25, or until graduation from high school.

    Michigan Administrative Rules for Special Education (MARSE)

    swing

    procedural safeguards

    LCISD Special Education Parent Handbook and Procedural Safeguards
    Special Education provides additional services, support, programs, specialized placement or environments to ensure that all eligible students' educational needs are being met. Removing barriers to learning, while employing best practices in a school wide setting is the key to high  achievement and successful school and post school outcomes for all students with special needs or different learning styles. Each student achieving to their personal potential towards independence and employability in the least restrictive environment is the goal of special education.

    LCISD Special Education Brochure
    Special Education Contacts
    Michelle Proulx
    Lapeer County ISD
    Director of Special Education

    (810) 245-3962 phone
    (810) 664-1011 fax
    mproulx@lcisd.k12.mi.us


    Hollie Wagner
    Lapeer County ISD
    Special Education Secretary
    Medicaid/Homebound Coordinator
    (810) 245-3962 phone
    (810) 664-1011 fax
    hwagner@lcisd.k12.mi.us

    Casey Rich
    Lapeer County ISD
    Coordinator of Special Education - Center Program
    (810) 667-6777 phone
    crich@lcisd.k12.mi.us


    Jean Baber
    Lapeer County ISD
    Special Education Secretary - Center Program
    (810) 667-6166 phone
    jbaber@lcisd.k12.mi.us
    Heather Lackey - CEC
    Almont, Dryden, Imlay City Schools

    Coordinator of Special Education
    (810) 724-9853

    hlackey@imlay.k12.mi.us
    JoAnne RIchards - CEC
    Almont, Dryden, Imlay City
    Special Education
    Secretary

    (810) 724-9853
    jrichards@imlay.k12.mi.us


    Jennifer Tindall
    Lapeer Community Schools
    Director of Special Education
    (810) 538-1630 phone
    jtindall@lapeerschools.org

    Ann Vierk
    Lapeer Community Schools
    Special Education Secretary
    (810) 538- 1627 phone
    avierk@lapeerschools.org

    Angela Martin
    North Branch Area Schools
    Coordinator of Special Education
    (810) 688-3041 phone
    amartin@nbbroncos.net

    Judy Fleury
    North Branch Area Schools
    Special Education Secre
    tary
    (810) 688-3041 phone
    jfleury@nbbroncos.net

    Theresa Frakes
    Compliance Monitor / Behavior Specialist
    (810) 245-3960
    tfrakes@lcisd.k12.mi.us
    Lynn Borck
    Chatfield School
    Special Education Secretary
    (810) 667-8970 Ext 201
    lborck@chatfieldschool.org


    LIVEBINDER

    Visit our LCISD LiveBinder Page for extensive resources for all areas of special education. These pages are updated frequently by all of our fabulous staff members!